....................................yeah that sucks.  Living is easy with eyes closed...so let me get back to where I left off.

    So let's see...been quite the week, lots of stuff happening!  Friday after work, we went for supper with Jon, and Tang from our work also joined us.  Tang is awesome!  Before Andi moved into my apartment, he was roommates with Tang.  Tang is a really cool dude who always has a big grin on his face and always makes sure that we are taken care of.      Sadly, of all the photos we have, we do not have one that features Tang, so I will make sure that gets taken care of.  If you're reading this Tang, I'd love to come out to your wedding next year!  Might be difficult, but I can try...

    Saturday morning we took the train to Beijing for the weekend.  Upon arriving, we dropped off our stuff at the hostel that we would be staying at overnight and then took off to the Beijing Olympic Center.  It was a cool area, even if the stadium is used for nothing anymore and the design was kinda meh (but that's swiss architecture for you right Andi?).  There were a lot of things there to sucker tourists to spend more money, but of course we aren't no stinking tourists.  We went to a park at the far end of Center and took a short stroll and a nap.  Afterwards, we went to Ghost Street (no ghosts, but red everywhere) for supper, in which we enjoyed a hot pot.  If you are not familiar with a hot pot...you order a batch of things (meats, veggies etc.), and put them into a cool-shaped pot to boil.  While not the best thing we had to eat, it was quite enjoyable and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves.  We went to 1001 nights later to enjoy some hookah and watch some belly dancing.  Beijing has tons of foreigners out and about, which is in stark contrast to Tianjin. 

    For Sunday, we made our trek to the Great Wall.  It was a..........journey to say the least, with mass confusion and people missing buses.  It took a LONG time to get out there, but we eventually made it!  As much of a tourist trap it is in so many ways, being on the wall itself is really cool and hard to describe.  The weather was incredible that day and has been since!  I have switched over to the spring jacket, which was a big moment for me.  I also finally used a squat toilet as well...but you probably didn't want to know that did you?  Well too late. 

    Anyways...so yeah....the wall was really cool, even if it took a long time to get back (big traffic jam due to pigs being on the highway...don't ask), we enjoyed a quality meal before heading back on the train to Tianjin.....only to face about a 45 minute delay on the train.  Not cool man.

    Monday was...Monday I guess.  Not a case of the Mondays, but just a lot of things going on.  BIG CHANGE!  Our intern entourage at Linky Sense has grown from 6 to 7 with the arrival of Raghda from Sweden.  It has been over three weeks since I arrived (the last intern to arrive before her), so the group dynamic shifts slightly.  Everything seems great so far!  Hope you've enjoyed your first few days here Raghda if you're reading this...

    Yesterday was...more work.  Surprise surprise!  At night, we celebrated Jon's birthday, who is now 1/4 of his way to 100!  Yay Jon!  We enjoyed some good food, drinks, and CAKE.  We bought a cake as well as others...which was a good thing as there were so many of us.  I must say, even if it is a bit biased, that our cake was superior.  Anyways, it was a great night full of birthday goodness!

    So what's coming up in the next week!  Shanghai!  I will be going slightly earlier for different reasons than the others (I leave for Saturday...why that is the case I will discuss later) until next Thursday.  So I highly doubt I will be doing another post until next Friday, but that can change.  Enjoy this post and don't forget to leave comments!  I highly enjoy your feedback on these posts and they keep me posting! 
Kayla
3/28/2012 05:48:03 am

Please tell me you bought that shirt...

Reply
Paul
3/28/2012 10:22:34 am

No I didn't, but I'm sure there will be about a billion other opportunities to buy one.

Reply
Cathy
3/28/2012 08:06:55 am

Well buying that shirt would be in your genes, your cousin brought home a stack!

Reply
Paul
3/28/2012 10:25:05 am

He told me about all the silly shirts that he bought. While I haven't sought them out just yet, there will be plenty of time to do that. Hope things are going well at home!

Reply
Anne
3/28/2012 10:43:54 am

Great pictures - and lots of them! Keep it up.

Reply
3/29/2012 09:25:48 am

Baha Paul your blog is hilarious! (though hard to tell if superior to Gene Hunt Fish???) I love your photobombing, keep it up!

Reply
Paul
3/30/2012 06:40:12 pm

It is not possible to be superior to Gene Hunt Fish. That is not possible.

Hope things are going well in Australia!

Reply
Eli
4/4/2012 12:41:44 pm

Do you get paid for this Paul? Damn man this seems amazing im soooooo jealous right now. Keep enjoying! Dont eat too many cheese burgers or we gonna have to go hard at the gym when you get back.

Reply
Paul
4/5/2012 11:13:08 pm

Word up E money! Yes, I do get paid for this internship, enough to cover the costs of living and then some. It's been pretty cool as of late. I stay away from western food for the most part, and I do have a gym membership that I make use of as well as exercising in the morning. Hope things are going well in Edmonton!

Reply



Leave a Reply.