Hello there.  So I've had issues with getting access to my wordpress blog, so I've switched over to weebly, which I must say is much better.  Anyways...

So I have been here for 5 days now, and things have been quite the blur.  I arrived late Friday night in Beijing, and my buddy from AIESEC, Iris (who is a real sweetheart) picked me up from the bus station in Tianjin and took me to a motel for the night.  After a great sleep, she picked me up the next morning to get my phone and internet set up, and then took me to my apartment.  It is very spacey to say the least (I will put photos up of the place in a future post) and currently do not have a roommate.  I met the other interns for my internship at LinkySense: Elise from Canada, Andi from Switzerland, Illiada from Greece, Nghia from Denmark, and Kerim from Germany.  It was great to have everyone here before me, as they are well-versed in the area and helped making adjusting that much easier.

Which brings to the issues of adjustments...my body is almost fully recovered from all the wear and tear of travel and living in a completely different area.  Spending time with the other interns has kept me busy and moving, which makes adjusting here that much easier.  It also makes sleeping at night much easier...I more or less fall on the bed, maybe check my laptop for a bit, and then get a good night's rest. 

On Sunday, we went to Beijing for the day, and had quite the experience there.  We took the high speed train from Tianjin, took what felt like a billion transfers on the Beijing metro and buses, had an amusing incident with a street vendor, and going to the Temple of Heaven.  It was very cool to say the least, and we will defiantly be visiting Beijing a lot during our time here.

Work at Linky Sense is awesome!  We have a shuttle bus that picks us up from our complex and takes us there in about 10 minutes.  While it is somewhat far away from the city center, the facility is top notch!  Linky Sense is an ecommerce company that sells primarily furniture through various channels across the world.  They have hired multiple interns, from various areas around the world to get a better focus on that aspect of the world.  Some of us are doing things for the english channels, while others are doing work for other languages and cultures.  Everyone is very young here and very friendly, and we are provided lunch and dinner which have been great so far! 

There is much to discuss and post about, but for now I wil end this post.  It seems very disjointed right now, but that's more or less how my last few days have felt.  Take care and I hope you enjoy the blog!  You can email me at [email protected] or reach me on skype@ paul_lopushinsky



Leave a Reply.