Hello Again.

So I think I got this blog all figured out now in the layout and whatnot.  I am happy to say the last couple of days I have not gotten sick at all or felt feverish or anything, so I am more or less all caught up and adjusted with things here. 

The last few days have been victory after victory.  My unlocked phone that I brought from home had issues with SIM cards here, but after about an hour of tweaking and googling solutions, I managed to get it to work!  Afterwards, I celebrated with a nice hot shower, as I also figured out how to get my water-heating tank in my place to work.

So about my place...I have a few photos below...it's quite spacey, and currently I am the only one living there, but that will change soon enough.  Lucked out with a fridge (some of the other interns were not so lucky), having a descent bed and room.  Bathroom smell is now dealt with via air fresheners, and I'm probably also getting used to the smell as well, although it's not like I am in there that often.  I picked up some cereal, bananas, and yogurt for breakfast that is a little more like home.  While it is far from the city center, there are plenty of bus choices nearby that are very inexpensive in comparison to what it costs back home. 

After work, we never go home right away, but head around the city a bit.  We have explored around, and managed to find a gym that we can make use of (amounts to about $10 canadian/month), and have received Chinese lessons the last few days.  On Tuesday, we went to a cafe in the Magnetic City and had a lesson with Jerry, who is a very cool cat.  Yesterday after work, we went into the city to a KFC (no, I didn't eat anything) and met up with some of the other interns: Akio from Calgary, Jon from Buffalo, United States, and Ilyana from Russia.  They have all been here quite a bit longer than us and are working different internships.  We met with some of their friends, and had another Chinese lesson with Mancy (if you read this, thank you very much once again).  It's a good spot, and it's funny that just above the KFC is the gym that we will probably use. 

Not sure what else to talk about at the moment...I just write as I go and don't proofread at all.  Anyways, in the next post or so I'll show and discuss more about work, what I do, and what it's like.  The weekend is coming up soon and there will be a lot of fun adventures for us to experience during that time.  So with that, I bid thee farewell. 


Kelci
3/7/2012 04:59:33 pm

looks like a baller place, Paul! totally awesome. that pic of you and that green jabba-the-hut-esque character is my favorite... wtf?! haha

Reply
Kayla
3/7/2012 11:24:46 pm

Paul! I definitely laughed at your KFC comment. But was it a nice spiffy KFC like the ones we saw at MASS? Are you going to get married at the KFC? haha. Miss you!!!!!!!

Reply
Apostolos
3/7/2012 11:41:29 pm

Have a good one Paul. stay away from dark alleys bro!

Reply
Vivian
3/8/2012 02:44:52 pm

Your place is seriously awesome! In comparison to other people's places in China, you could technically be said to be living in an above average-quality place!!! I'm actually quite jealous.

Reply
Breanna
3/8/2012 02:53:32 pm

welcome to our company, enjoy your stay in Tianjin China!

Reply



Leave a Reply.