Why I made a lyrical line from a Steve Miller song as the title for this blog post...I don't know.  Guess it was the first thing to come to my head?  Anyways...it's true!  Time does keep on slipping, as I have been here for a little over two weeks now!  Where has the time gone?  Where to start...

    Since my last post...what have we been up to?  Last Thursday after work, Iliada, Andi, and I met up with Akio and Carmen for Gold Pizza.  It was delicious and satisfied my taste buds, as well as reminding me of food back home.  It was great to spend some quality time with them and catch up, as we had not seen them in awhile. 

    On Friday, everyone save for Elise and Kerim went to supper near the TV tower with Jon and Darlina.  Our table had a rotating middle and we ordered several dishes that were spun around constantly.  Very delicious, save for lemon grass, which ruins anything it touches.  We went to a small Korean bar after and enjoyed a few games of Rummy (a card game).

    Saturday was St. Patty's day, and yes, we did celebrate it in Tianjin!  Firstly, we spent the late morning and afternoon in Yangliuqing Town, south of Tianjin.  Prying eyes everywhere (even more than usual) to see a group of foreigners walking around...guess they're not used to it there?  It's nice to tread off the beaten path once awhile and fully immerse ourselves in a place that does not follow under the "tourist" category. 
    After a few hours of wondering around, we came back home for a bit before heading out to celebrate St. Patty's day.  We went to Ajo, a western bar, to enjoy some Guinness and some food.  I indulged in a cheeseburger, which is the first one I have had in a long time.  Pretty mediocre burger, but it was nice to remind myself of home.  We met up (again) with Jon, Akio, and Darlina, and went to The Ali Babas, a bar full of expats.  A few games of King's Cup and several drinks later, we went to Sitong, a nightclub.  Once again, a lot of expats there.  Pretty similar to clubs back home, but we had good fun, even if 90% of the songs sounded the same.  Shutting off your brain for a few hours is good every once in awhile, and what better place than a nightclub?  Once we emerged from the club in the wee hours, it WAS SNOWING.  Yes...the thing I had left Canada to escape from had followed me here.  Granted, it wasn't very much and it's more or less all gone now, but STILL.  SNOW. 

    Sunday was a relaxing day to recover from the one before.  Sunday was a very special day, as Andi moved into my apartment!  There were fireworks and magicians and beer there...ok maybe not, just a game of Jenga.  Iliada and Elise moved into the REAL penthouse in the other complex, which takes up the entire floor.  They have now achieved baller status I guess.  With all the supplies and luxuries they now have, we went to the supermarket to pick up things that will allow us to cook there.  After quite a long time in the store, we picked up enough appliances and food to last awhile for cooking there.  We all pitched in in various ways to make pasta, salad, and chicken.  For our first made meal together, it was quite delightful, and will only get better.

    Monday rolls around, and we are back at work.  Pretty good day, and Andi and I picked up a gym membership after work at a nearby gym.  It will be great to keep fit while we are here, as that is always a struggle to do while abroad.

    So today is Tuesday and...now what?  Well, I broke my chair this morning at the office when leaning back too far, so now I have a better chair that makes me feel like the emperor from Star Wars.  Yay for me! 

    What's next for us?  I should get my visa renewal sorted out next week, we will go to Beijing this weekend, and we are planning our trip to Shanghai in the next couple of weeks.  Things are moving right along...and I think by now I 've said everything I want to say.

Oh yeah.  One more thing.

Andi is hence known as "The Unvisible Postman".  Don't ask. 

And the angry bus driver lady is now known as Susana. 

ByeBye! :) 

   

Iliada
3/19/2012 05:19:50 pm

Hahah I love how I get to live all these situations and then read about them too! Just want to add that you have successfully reached the next level in adapting to China - taking a nap at work - congratulations!! :P

Reply
Ed
3/20/2012 01:04:47 am

Paul, this is genius. So well written and hilarious - you should do this professionally!

Reply
Paul
3/28/2012 10:26:56 am

I try. Thanks Ed! I just make notes throughout the week of what we do, look over them beforehand, and then just start typing.

Reply
Katharine Sliwinski
3/20/2012 03:48:32 pm

Love your tone and demeanor nothing seems to get you down!!! Even the snow...well sorta :) its great to see you really happy and having a good time and good job with Susana fantastic breakthrough, at least you've gotten through one layer of her thick hide ;) Its fun reading your posts back home, its like a new real life series can't wait to see what happens next episode :)

Reply
Joyce
3/21/2012 03:20:20 pm

Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to blog and upload so many pictures. I always look forward to reading about your experiences!

Reply



Leave a Reply.